Book Shopping 

Hey lovelies,

I get really excited when it’s musing Friday. I hope December is already treating you well. The year is coming to its close and I’m excited. I hope you’ve started penning down your resolutions for 2017 and if not 😏 get to it already! 😜 

How’s your week been? I’ve had a good week with awesome conversations. I am really excited for the remaining part of the year. Christmas lights are already up to welcome all into the season. I hope you love Christmas as much as I do and if you don’t hmm let me know which holiday is your favorite?

Okay let’s talk!!

I love reading but sometimes I feel like I love books more than I love reading 😩. I could keep a book beside me and open it everyday but not read it. Sometimes I find myself smiling at the book and maybe that’s why I’m a hard copy lover. Because of my love for books, my house is going to have a reading room; it just has to. Not just a reading room but a mini library in the reading room.

I do not like shopping – especially for clothes. Thank God for online shopping making life easy. I don’t mind shopping for groceries and makeup but we shouldn’t spend so much time on it, an hour (which is too much) should be an hour. Book shopping on the other hand I love ❤️; I could spend hours trying to find a book and not mind. You can sweep me off my feet with a book store with a chill spot for reading, you have my heart forever.

Okay today’s musing is about how to pick books when book shopping. I bought books last week and I found myself drawn to a particular book because of it’s title, didn’t look at the summary just put it in my basket and off I went. On getting home I realized that the book may actually be too sad- I don’t mind sad books but this wasn’t going to be a crying sad book, just a thought provoking sad book.

I get book recommendations and I’ve bought two books based on those (thank you Ayo) – Daughters who walk this path- Yejide Kilanko and Fine boys – Eghosa Imasuen; sometimes I pick books based on popularity – the Divergent Series – Veronica Roth and for the most part, I read the summary to get me interested. Oh and there are times I pick because I’ve read books from the author and liked them so went back to it – Ted Dekker, Jodi Picoult, Khaled Husseini, etc.

So my question is what draws you to a book? Why do you choose to buy a book?
Oh, what’s the name of the book you’re currently reading and how did you pick it out?

I’m reading Sins of the mother – Irene Kelly

I pray you have a blessed rest of the year.

xoxo your favorite girl,
Diana M

Leave a Reply

