New Year Resolutions

Most things break, including hearts. The lessons of life amount not to wisdom, but to scar tissue and callus. 

– Wallace Stegner, The Spectator Bird

What shall we talk about today? πŸ€”πŸ€”

My birthday is in a couple of days (next week Friday) and I got an early birthday present yesterday (totally unexpected). Birthdays for me are rest days, just stay indoors and receive calls and messages and be thankful. But maybe this birthday will be different, just maybe. I feel so because of the early gift (never has it happened before).

I’ve actually had zero inspiration this week and last so you can guess my excitement to post today because musing Friday (if you can’t well let me tell you, zero, none). But I promised to I have to deliver (yay).

I’ve read two books recently – The Screwtape Letters, C S Lewis and Handle with care, Jodi Picoult. You probably won’t easily find the second but the first should be easy to find online (ebook) and also it has an audiobook which made reading the literature perfect.

‘Handle with care’ brought about so many emotions especially after I had already judged the character based on the information given at the summary behind. After going through a couple of chapters, I totally understood a lot of things and found myself rooting for her to win the case.

Okay, to today’s topic – New Year Resolutions. I read something here and I guess it inspired the topic.


With every new year we find ourselves ready to conquer the year with grand plans and honestly this is good and I think everyone should do it, set achievable goals. During my childhood days and teenage years I would come up with a list of 10 things I wanted to do in that year and I found myself writing it on the 1st of January every year. As I grew up that didn’t change, only the list did (it got shorter). I wonder why.

Before we get lost in the holiday, before Christmas spirit gets really high and we are on whatever cloud, let’s write what we want to achieve in the coming year. I’m not saying you can’t write a realistic list then, I’m just saying that we should use this time to really think about what we want for the coming year, write goals that are achievable. I’m not saying don’t set big goals, I’m saying let them be realistic. The year’s resolution is what you hope you to achieve in that year, not in a couple of years time, that particular year.

Do not set yourself up for disappointment if you’re like me and going to check that list at the end of the year. I don’t want us feeling like we failed in things we knew were unrealistic but we were hopeful. I want us to look at the list at the end of the year filled with pride that we did it. I want us to be accomplished in our set goals.

The summary of this is have/set big resolutions but let them be realistic.

What are your thoughts on new year resolutions and when do you think is the right time to write them.

And did you get what
you wanted from this life, even so?
I did.
And what did you want?
To call myself beloved, to feel myself
beloved on the earth

– Raymond Carver, ‘Late Fragment’

xoxo your favorite girl,
Diana M

11 Comments

  1. Yay! She finally posted πŸ˜€ Great post dear. I like how you keep reminding us to set SMART goals. They have to be realistic and achievable within the year. And I keep getting these reminders but haven’t set my goals yet. LOL. Lemme go and do that now. Thanks for sharing! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha like I’ve been waiting for patiently for today to put something out. Laziness plus no inspiration is a bad thing.
      Haven’t done mine but I’ve been talking about it so much πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚but I have them at the top of my head so yay me
      You are welcome 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Hi…
    Girl!!!!!!!!! *Waving frantically in the airπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚Really*Happy Birthday in advance!!!
    Oh! My! Mine was last Tuesday (November squad, I hail πŸ˜†πŸ™‹) and this is all the more interesting as I did a Thursday post on goal setting.

    I love how you said we shouldn’t set ourselves up for failure. I’ve failed many times in a single moment; talk more, a day, week, month *deep sigh* But we keep moving on. I think one good thing to do is, do ‘more’ than make “beautiful” looking/sounding resolutions for a new year.
    I think we should begin by acknowledging and appreciating the newness of every day and as such, making it a conscious effort to live every moment with an intention(a resolution). it’d help us to value more, the resolutions we make for “bigger” seasons like the calendar new year…

    God help us through it all.
    Keep going and I wish you a fantabulous year indeed!
    πŸ˜ƒ
    http://becauseibelieveblog.com/2016/11/17/on-being-enough-setting-goals-forging-on/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes you said it well!!
      Oh hey girl 😁😁 happy belated birthday. I hope you had a fabulous day. (Give me some of your excitement please) 😩
      Acknowledge and appreciate the newness of everyday ❀️️; live with an intention. (Just jotting these)
      Thank you for your comment. I appreciate ❀️️😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you!!! It’s my pleasure reading 😊😘. I have a feeling I’d give less hype πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I’m more of a stay beneath my blanket, reply those birthday messages kind of girl. I was really happy it went more of how I desired it to go rather than the more conventional birthday markoff style (whatever that means πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚) I was so excited though for all the opportunities a new year brought.(ALMOST same as, all the opportunities a new day brings but different still) Honestly. I felt that energy like never before and it kept(keeps) me grateful and more hopeful. Listen to what your heart wants but tell yourself, you’re surely having a memorable day and an even more remarkable year πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ(I write too muchπŸ˜†πŸ˜†)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You just had to point out your birthday didn’t you??😐😐 anyway I understand what you are saying but sometimes your goals at the time might be big and might not necessarily seem realistic then but it doesn’t mean it can’t be done. I am of the opinion that if we keep telling ourselves that we have to set realistic goals we tend to limit ourselves

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lmao but it’s my birthday month, I just have to keep reminding the world.
      I also get you but still don’t think it’s us limiting ourselves. You can go overboard the goal after you have achieved what you set. But what’s the point of not setting limits and not achieving it at all? 😩
      Thanks for contributing 😘❀️️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

