Salvation & Grace 

Something happened in church on Sunday that got me thinking deep:
The pastor asked how many people were saved; some hands were lifted up and I was one of those who kept my hands down. The previous Sunday, I took part in taking the holy communion so why oh why were my hands down if I have received Christ as my savior and been baptized; why didn’t I think I’d been saved 🤔. Next thing that happens, this bible verse comes into mind

“Therefore, everyone who acknowledges Me before men and confesses Me [out of a state of oneness with Me], I will also acknowledge him before My Father Who is in heaven and confess [that I am abiding in] him.
But whoever denies and disowns Me before men, I also will deny and disown him before My Father who is in heaven.”
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭10:32-33‬ ‭AMPC‬‬

Right then I got scared that I will be denied before God and it got me thinking and wanting to raise my hand because of this. Hmmm by this time I’m not listening to the sermon as I should be. After a while, the thought vanishes and yes I ended up not raising my hand and this is the reason – I wasn’t sure I was saved.

I didn’t even know I was thinking a lot about this until these verses came to mind. I’m not in any way saying that the first verse I shared isn’t true, it definitely is.

“For it is by free grace (God’s unmerited favor) that you are saved (delivered from judgment and made partakers of Christ’s salvation) through [your] faith. And this [salvation] is not of yourselves [of your own doing, it came not through your own striving], but it is the gift of God; Not because of works [not the fulfillment of the Law’s demands], lest any man should boast. [It is not the result of what anyone can possibly do, so no one can pride himself in it or take glory to himself.]”
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭2:8-9‬ ‭AMPC‬‬

“For we hold that a man is justified and made upright by faith independent of and distinctly apart from good deeds (works of the Law). [The observance of the Law has nothing to do with justification.]”
‭‭Romans‬ ‭3:28‬ ‭AMPC‬‬

For a minute I forgot what salvation is, I did not remember/understand that once you’ve been made right with God, right you are. I forgot about GRACE.

I’m glad now that I did not raise my hand up out of fear, I’m glad that I have been made to understand my standing with God and I just want to let y’all know this too. It’s has never been and will never be about you, it’s about God.

Hope you are having a nice week already. October is in a couple of days; the year is nearing its end. I pray for God to continually keep us in His peace, Amen. Have a lovely rest of the week and remember WE’VE BEEN SAVED BY GRACE.

19 Comments

  1. I love the subject of grace (probably because that’s the meaning of my name) 🙂 I also admire the sincerity in this post. Thanks for the reminder that it’s not by our works we are saved but by Christ’s work on the cross. Thank God for His amazing grace!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Exactly
    Just as Grace isn’t something we deserve.
    And it isn’t something we get by our “right standing” — our righteousness pretty much being filthy rags before the Father, it is something we are to bask in confidently
    We didn’t choose this, we didn’t merit it, we didn’t ask for it, He choose us, he gifted us. No extra charges.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it, Diana! When I got to the part where you wanted to raise your hands (or thought of it) out of FEAR, I said in my mind “Oh no!” then kept reading and happily saw how God Himself spoke to you. He doesn’t want us to serve Him out of fear and sadly, I think a lot of ministers consciously or unconsciously put this fear in people’s hearts.
    Thank God for God (as one of my friends says) and you have a blessed remainder of your week as well!❣

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

