MEDICINE 

You see,
Sometimes when it hurts,
When my heart is breaking,
In my need of medicine, pain reliever,
I cry; maybe the tears will wash the hurt
I laugh; if I do it long enough I’ll forget
I sleep; when I wake, I’ll realize it’s a dream
I rant; it’ll probably make sense with much talking
I gaze; each tile needs to be looked at with love
I stare; at the walls, making sense of paint choice
I pray; I know He sees but I feel He needs reminding
I’m quiet; maybe silent is the word,
No quiet I mean, I keep quiet and lay still
Waiting for it all to pass,
Waiting to shout victoriously
“Yes I did it! I overcame this!”
Somehow, that’s all the medicine I need to be relieved

Diana M

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

