Are you listening to me?

Yes Friday is here people and musing is back!!!
I hope you’ve had a great week. I’m doing well thank you and very excited for this month. Last month I pushed writing to the side for no reason. I was busy doing nothing.
You know that thing you want to start? Yes, that one thing you postpone doing; why not do it now. Get on with it like now!!

Okay let’s just get on with what today’s musing is about.

Many times people complain about not being heard. Is it that they aren’t speaking loud enough or their words aren’t easily  understood?
No! That’s not the case. It has nothing to do with them and everything to do with the other party.
As humans, I think it is a fundamental need to have your feelings acknowledged, whether or not someone agrees with you.

Listening creates an intimate connection and makes you feel cared about

I’m not talking about hearing here because everyone without a hearing impairment has the ability to hear.
Hearing is the act of perceiving sound by the ear and it is a passive occurrence that requires no effort.
Listening is a conscious choice that demands your attention and concentration, so that your brain processes meanings from words, actions, body language and environment.
Listening also could be paying close attention.

images

I for one, I love when someone listens to me. Doesn’t just tell me “you’re worth my attention” but also tells me I’m interesting enough to capture your attention (I’ve been told I’m a boring somebody 😌).

I had a conversation with a friend last week and I remember pointing out to him that he doesn’t listen. Not that I asked him to do something and he didn’t, no. It had to do with a question he asked and me having answered it previously.

I love to listen to people. From listening one can hear unspoken words and emotions. I talk a lot but yes I listen as much as I talk.
I’m not saying I’m the world’s greatest listener (I wish), I’m just saying that everyone should possess at least 40% listening skills.

Listening leads to learning.

EFFECTIVE COMMUNICATION IS LISTENING NOT JUST HEARING.

So yes let’s talk: is there a difference between listening and hearing and also how can we be better listeners.

I’m so glad to be back musing.

xoxo Diana

image: someecards.com

 

9 Comments

  1. You finally decided to post right? I think some people are better listeners with things they really want to know and/or with people they really care about. I say this because in my case, I tune some people out intentionally because I don’t really care for what they are saying….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I must admit, I do feel that way sometimes – conflicted whether I’m not speaking loudly enough or if people just turn deaf ears to my words. It’s nice to see that you attributed this to us not listening to others more than the former. We really do need to listen not just hear sounds. -_-
    And hmmm, can I put a twist on this and say that maybe the speaker who isn’t being welcomed with a response can actually take that as a response and retreat. This will show that he was actually “listening” on his end (even though this now places the burden on the speaker to be both speaker and “listener”). Whatcha think?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read this a number of times and typed so many replies (😆).

      When it comes to maybe giving a presentation, seminar and their likes (haha) yes it places that burden on the speaker but when it comes to seeking advice or counsel on a problem I think it just puts a strain on the relationship between the speaker and the listener.
      😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

