me vs darkness 

darkness almost swallowed me.

for a long time it’s made me fearful
of shadows and nighttime
hush noises and insect sounds
but today I was determined
to give darkness a run for its life
tell it it’s equally matched
so instead of running I engage it
in a stare-down battle

but it has no eyes
so I stand and wait
for it to consume me
thoughts running its race
mind weakening
as the wait stretches
today I’m determined
to put an end to this battle
so I stand, waiting
for a winner to emerge
me vs darkness

you know how it ends.
Diana M

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

