In my haste…

I was in a haste this morning
to talk to my creator,
bring His attention to my flaws,
fault Him on the attributes I disliked
to tell Him what I thought He did wrong
so I sought my mirror as my guide

my nose was flat for my face,
I did not appreciate the gap between my teeth,
disagreed with long ears for a square face,
the fold round my neck made me sad,
complained about my flat buttocks and chest,
hated the slight bow my legs formed,
That my curves weren’t in the right place
I wanted my features different

Distinct features that formed me
“If only I was a bit like her,
Or smiled like him” I said
I saw beauty in the world’s standard
Forgot I was created in my maker’s image

I was in a haste this morning
To complain to my creator
Because I didn’t see beyond my flaws,
I forgot to say THANK YOU
for making me like HIM

Diana M

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

