Three doors 

Three labelled doors stood before me
PAST, PRESENT, FUTURE …
‘Open one’ the instruction reads
Quickly, I eliminate FUTURE
Well, I love a good surprise,
So, why not?
I’m living in the PRESENT,
Which led me to walk past that door
And I’m left face-to-face with the PAST

Knock! Knock! Knock!
The silence before me deafens
Conversations press play in my head
Opportunities I should have pursued
Ill-decisions I made replay
Things I should have walked away from
Thoughts of ‘what if’s’ recurring…
So I peek through the keyhole
The corridor I see is unending
Not a shadow in sight
Or feet shuffling could be heard
Faking composure, I try to straighten up
Ready to right my wrongs
A closer look at door PAST reads
“ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT TO DO THIS?”
In that moment, my legs carry me …
to FURURE to what awaits me
My body fails me then,
My strength suddenly weakens
This door I was so eager to open
I now stare at, not knowing what to do
That is when it dawns on me,
that moment is when I realize,
I’m scared of the FUTURE …
because I’ve been disappointed by the PAST

Three labelled doors stood before me
PAST, PRESENT, FUTURE …
‘Open one’ the instruction reads
I walk in the direction of the PRESENT
She welcomes me with happiness
I walk through the door and think
 ‘I’d rather live in now
to prepare me for FUTURE
because PAST is already gone …’

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

