Today, I let go (cont’d)

Last week I wrote a piece and it was from the lady’s point of view https://reverberatingthoughts.wordpress.com/2015/04/13/today-i-let-go-2/. So today, I wanted to let you in on how the guy felt as he did this “hurt” to her.

As she held on I saw it
The tears in her eyes
The hurt she felt before
I had disappointed her
And then,
Words failed me, emotions failed me
I had become her nightmare
The one she told me about
The one I promised was “just a dream”
And I saw it
I had broken her
But, she did not understand
I was struggling inside
So I tried to explain
But,
Words failed me, emotions failed me
And realization set upon me
No explanation, no “I’m sorry”
Could and would erase the hurt
Because when “I love you” is promised
When “I’ll always be there” is promised
You don’t back down, not without a fight
But fighting needs courage
And courage failed me
So I took the easier route
One step at a time
Until all I could see was memories

Diana M

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

